How my favorite “toy” shaped my life…

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Toy Story.”

Good evening fellow bloggers and readers 🙂

I am a little late for todays blogging101 assignment, I had lectures all day and an exam..it was really exhausting, but I signed up for this so I am doing it!

The assignment for today is to make a prompt personal and todays prompt is “Toy Story”. I think the prompt fits my blog pretty good, because I will talk about a book that shaped my life. So it´s not really a toy, but I never really had a favorite toy..at least non that I can think of.     I´ll just tell you about this amazing story that fascinated me as an 8 year old girl and still does it.

It was in 2001 when my sister got home from a school trip to the cinema and told us about this great movie she just saw with her class. The name of this movie was “Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone”. I didn’t really know Harry Potter at this time, I just knew that everyone was speaking about it, but I thought it wasn’t something for me. But as my sister was so amazed by it, my father took me and my siblings to the cinema to watch it. I have to say I was hooked from second one! The movie charmed me so much that after I left the cinema I had to know all about it. I even started reading the first book, but I was eight and couldn’t read very well, so my mom bought us the Audio CD. And from this point on we spent hours over hours listening to the CDs. I got obsessed with the world of Harry Potter and became a true fan. Every time a new book/CD or movie came out there was this special feeling in the air that united millions of fans over the whole world and I just loved it. When I turned eleven I seriously was disappointed that I didn’t get a letter! I wanted to go to Hogwarts so bad! You ask yourself how a book (or a movie :P) can shape someones life? I tell you..If it weren’t for Harry Potter I may not have the connection to books I have now, if it weren’t for Harry Potter I would not have gone to the school I chose (it was in a small little castle –> MY PERSONAL HOGWARTS :D) if it were´t for that school I wouldn’t have met my best friend and finally if it weren’t for Harry Potter AND the school I chose, I may never have guessed that I wanted to study comparative literature (and english, because I am taking it too next semester :D) and that would have been a shame. I believe that Joanne K. Rowling has shaped me so much with her great story. I grew up with Harry, Ron and Hermione. They were the heroes of my childhood and are still with me. I love reading the books again, or listening to the CDs or watching the movies. It will be a part of me…Always (hahah—HP reference :P).

Have you a book/movie/story or something that shaped in any way then tell me 🙂

xoxo

7 thoughts on “How my favorite “toy” shaped my life…

  1. I love posts that are Harry Potter related, haha! I think Harry Potter helped shape so many people which only makes it better because it unites all of us Potterheads. It’s quite a lovely thought. And that is pretty cool that your school was in a little castle! If it wasn’t for Harry Potter I don’t think I would have become such good friends with a girl who is now one of my best friends and this also goes for other friends of mine. I hope your exam went okay!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I love that thought too that HP united (and still does :D) so much people. It´s probably a phenomenon that will probably never repeat.
      I hope my exam went well too xD but I have a pretty good feeling 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great “toy”. The book that changed my life was The Enchanted Wood by Enid Blyton. I read it at five and was so spellbound by the magical world that I’ve spent the rest of my life enjoying the arts and now work in theatre in education. Life-changing stuff!

    As for toys, I was really blown away by my Commodore Vic 20 computer. And my Star Wars Millennium Falcon had pride of place in my bedroom for many years.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love that it was a book that shaped your childhood so much, and still influences strongly today. Books are awesome! For me as a child, long before Harry Potter, it was the Betsy-Tacy series, and of course, the Little House books (before the TV series!)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Very nice…growing up I used to love books about Ramona Quimby by Beverly Cleary, and many of her other books as well…one of my favorite childhood books was The Boxcar Children by Gertrude Chandler Warner…my third grade teacher read us that book…and then I went on to read it again myself….Charlotte’s Web…and as a teenager I moved on to mysteries by Christopher Pike…and of course Stephen King…The Talisman….and The Dark Tower Series…I love so many books and genre’s….Wuthering Heights…ohhh and Rebecca….I don’t think I could name just one book, series, or author…I loved them all! But during a period of time, I know that the Harry Potter series was just huge…and my kids are enjoying it even now….along with the Percy Jackson series….so many books, so little time!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I spent many hours with books as a child, so I do consider them my toys. I read the typical books kids read (before Harry Potter) but it was a book I picked up off the shelf in the library one day that had a tremendous influence on me: To Kill a Mockingbird. I was too young to fully understand it but loved the characters and found it fascinating. As the years have gone by I have read it a couple of more times. It is still my favorite. If you have a chance, check out my Toy Story: http://wp.me/p6dI2a-3X

    Like

Leave a Reply

