Something like a review: Dragonfly in Amber [Outlander #2] by Diana Gabaldon

Source: penguinrandomhouse.com
Source: penguinrandomhouse.com

“For nearly twenty years Claire Randall has kept her secrets. But now she is returning with her grown daughter to Scotland’s majestic mist-shrouded hills. Here Claire plans to reveal a truth as stunning as the events that gave it birth: about the mystery of an ancient circle of standing stones . . . about a love that transcends the boundaries of time . . . and about Jamie Fraser, a Scottish warrior whose gallantry once drew a young Claire from the security of her century to the dangers of his.
 
Now a legacy of blood and desire will test her beautiful copper-haired daughter, Brianna, as Claire’s spellbinding journey of self-discovery continues in the intrigue-ridden Paris court of Charles Stuart . . . in a race to thwart a doomed Highlands uprising . . . and in a desperate fight to save both the child and the man she loves.”
(Source: penguinrandomhouse.com)

OMG I finally finished the second book in the Outlander series! After nearly a year (I bought it on July 21st) of on and off reading this book I can now add it to my pile of read books. And I am so glad, it was huge and some parts of it were not as exciting as I wanted them to be.

As I finished book one of the series I had to have the next one immediately, so I bought it on my kindle and started reading. Especially as I read the summary for it..seriously..shes back in her time and it´s twenty years later?! What the hell happened? I had to know it.
I was not really thrilled at first that Claire was back in the 20th century and that so much time has passed. I thought..heeeey I want to know what happened after you guys escaped…and where the hell is Jamie?!
But thank god after just 100-150 pages she begins to tell what happened after the events of book one. And that’s the majority of Dragonfly in Amber. 
I didn´t like that so much of this book was set in Paris. I really loved Scotland as setting. But it had his good sides too, Paris in the 18th century can be fun too. But sadly I thought that a big part of their time in France was rather boring. All this meetings with Prince Charles and balls and festivities and blablabla..that wasn’t so great. In every other book I would have probably liked this glamour etc. but I think       it didn’t fit in here.
But nevertheless there were also good and exciting and dramatic passages in Paris. But I was glad when they were back in Scotland (:
The last 40% of the book were awesome. I read them in 1 1/2 weeks. These last percents are the reason why I like this book very much. We got to see all the familiar faces from book one and we came home to Lallybroch. All the action took also place in this last percents, and we finally know why Claire goes back through the stone circle.
At the end we have a small part that´s set in the 20th century again. We learn a few things that are kind of shocking and trigger the story for books three and makes it impossible not to read on!
I really hope that Book three is great the whole time! My goal is to read it in less than a year 😀

If I read the whole series at this pace I´ll need at least 8 years xD These books are triggering contradicting feelings inside me. On the one hand I really love them, the storyline, the characters..everything. But on the other hand there are always parts I find really boring and not so good and omg I am never going to read them in german again. The translation is just so bad! I already have book three in english! And I am going to start today 😛

Do you know this series? Do you like it or not or are you like me and find it awesome and boring at the same time? Tell me!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

