Review: Falling Kingdoms – Morgan Rhodes

Source: www.penguin.com
Source: www.penguin.com

War brought them together. Love will tear them apart.

Princess Cleo of Mytica confronts violence for the first time in her life when a shocking murder sets her kingdom on a path to collapse. Once a privileged royal, Cleo must now summon the strength to survive in this new world and fight for her rightful place as Queen.

The King of Limeros’s son, Magnus, must plan each footstep with shrewd, sharp guile if he is to earn his powerful father’s trust, while his sister, Lucia, discovers a terrifying secret about her heritage that will change everything.

Rebellious Jonas lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished—and finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.

Witches, if found, are put to death, and Watchers, immortal beings who take the shape of hawks to visit the human world, have been almost entirely forgotten. A vicious power struggle quickly escalates to war, and these four young people collide against each other and the rise of elementia, the magic that can topple kingdoms and crown a ruler in the same day.
(Source: www.penguin.com)


I came across this book while looking trough amazon. No I actually came across another book by this author which I thought sounded cool, and saw that it was a Spin-off of this series. So I thought I´d better start with the first series, I don’t want to spoiler myself or something like that 😉

The summary and the cover was what appealed to me about to book. I remember seeing a few weeks before on a blog I think and I just bought and started reading.
First I have to say I am really torn with my opinion on this book! But lets start at the beginning.

The start of the book was really captivating and could make me want to read on and on and that is wonderful. We were confronted with prophecies and murder and secrets. It was really promising. I really liked the world the book was set in and everything that came with it. The magic, the intrigues the forbidden love(s). I think that there is so much potential and I hope that the world building continues in the following novels. I want to know more about the past of Mytica and about the witches and watchers and how everything works.

While the world developed fine in this book, I thought that the characters lacked very much. The book is told from different point of views. We have Princess Cleo, who was the character I liked most. Then we have Prince Magnus who I didn’t like at all. And then there is Jonas who I am not sure if I should like or not, but I tend to yes right now. In between we have a few short scenes told from the perspective of some other characters but these three are the main ones. While I liked Cleo the most, I sometimes just couldn’t understand her choices. She was very very naive and childish at moment, but at others she was brave and strong. But I wished for more development on her part!
Magnus on the other hand I did understand , at least the choices he made or rather why he is like he is. That doesn’t mean that I like him, but he has a side on him that could turn my mind!
And Jonas..I think him I could understand the most. His motivations were clear from the beginning.
I think the lack of character development is the fault of the many point of views. Not everyone can pull that off (they’re not all a Cassandra Clare :P). Sometimes I felt like it was not one story but three different stories put into one book.

The last thing I have to criticize is the love story. What was that?! I don’t want to spoiler anything, but I have to say it was really unrealistic and that I believe that it wasn’t the “real” love story of this series! Ahhh and one other thing. Sometimes the characters in this book did things with no good reason, like start a war with no good explanation on why. Did I miss something or were there none?

Still, despite all my critique I enjoyed the book and I see potential for the following novels. I really hope that Morgan Rhodes put more work into her characters and that book 2 will be better. I am definitely giving it a chance!

Leave a Reply

