Review: A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

Source: www.headline.co.uk
Source: www.headline.co.uk

“A world of witches, daemons and vampires. A manuscript which holds the secrets of their past and the key to their
future. Diana and Matthew – the forbidden love at the heart of it.

When historian Diana Bishop opens an alchemical manuscript in the Bodleian Library, it’s an unwelcome
intrusion of magic into her carefully ordered life. Though Diana is a witch of impeccable lineage, the violent death of her parents while she was still a child convinced her that human fear is more potent than any witchcraft. Now Diana has unwittingly exposed herself to a world she’s kept at bay for years; one of powerful witches, creative, destructive daemons and long-lived vampires. Sensing the significance of Diana’s discovery, the creatures gather in Oxford, among them the enigmatic Matthew Clairmont, a vampire genticist. Diana is inexplicably drawn to Matthew and, in a shadowy world of half-truths and old enmities, ties herself to him without fully understanding the ancient line they are crossing. As they begin to unlock the secrets of the manuscript and their feelings for each other deepen, so the fragile balance of peace unravels…”
(Source: www.headline.co.uk)

First I have to say that I am currently in a very witchy mood! I am obsessed with all things witches, I guess it’s because of the season..halloween is not far etc. So since I began to watch Witches of East End again (which by the ways is awesome and I do hope that someday there will be a third season!!) I can’t get enough of witches. And since I had “A Discovery of Witches” on my TBR shelf I picked it up and started reading.
And I freaking loved it from the beginning onwards!

Deborah Harkness created a book with such a unique atmosphere and really great characters that I was sucked right into it. The book is rather thick, it has nearly 700 pages and I needed over two weeks to finish it. But that was one thing I loved about the book. I didn’t rush while reading it. Normally it would have bugged me that I was relatively slow reading this book, but somehow it didn’t. I took my time with it and it was worth it. It isn’t that the book wasn’t exciting or anything, but it just suited the mood in the book. Everything needed time to develop, the plot, the characters and me.
All in all I enjoyed the plot, but sometimes I had to roll my eyes about it. There were parts where the characters did something that wouldn’t make sense to me, but that was just a minor thing. I really loved how the relationship between Matthew and Diana developed. Another one of those taboo relationship, he is a Vampire she a Witch and they are not allowed to be together. But they just don’t care and I say go for it! Those two are just so perfect for each other, I loved every moment they had together. Sometimes they were very frustrating, but more often they were just sweet and funny. The age difference of them made it so much more interesting!
What I also loved about the book is that Diana is a historian and that Deborah Harkens put so much detail into describing it and how she works, it made me wish that I was a historian! It sounded so cool and interesting and the parts where she is at the Bodleian Library at Oxford were so exciting for me, I just had to google images of it! I imagined myself right there with her. That is one of those things that set the mood for me! I loved it!

What I did miss a bit was more of the witchy kind of stuff. Diana didn’t use her powers at first, her power developed throughout the book. I wished for more spells and potions and this kind of stuff. But nearing the end there was some of it..but not enough for my taste 😉

I am really glad I picked up this book. It is one of those special books that stick with you for a long time and make you wish you could crawl right into it to be part of the story!
There are two more books in the series and I already have them at home and can’t wait to continue the story of Diana and Matthew.

Have you read this book? Did like it as much as I did?
Can you recommend any other books/movies/TV-Shows with Witches? Lets hear it!

xoxo

One thought on “Review: A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

Leave a Reply

